RSS

pride

29 Jul

Leviticus 20:13 'If a man has sex with a man in same way as with a woman, they have committed an abomination. They are certainly to be put to death.'

Well, as my dear friend Jonathan has said in response to this statement illustrated above as inspired by Leviticus, “Why would a man have sex with a man in the same way as a woman? As a gay man I should have sex with a man in the way a man wants to have sex with a man {even as a man is or was or could be a woman…}.” One of the many feelings that I have experienced during this Israel journey are the intricate, enmeshed and contradictory levels of joy, sadness and complexity in civil society.

These contradictions have served as a road map into the ways I have been able to reconcile the intensity and love of life here. So today, I focus on the immediate need for equality in regards to sexual orientation and gender identity in Jerusalem and we march. In somewhat of a contrast, mostly in the levels of celebration and local community acceptance, to Pride in San Francisco, Madrid, Toronto or Tel Aviv we are marching for our equality in the hope that one day we will be marching here to celebrate with the larger community. Today I have pride, I have hope and I have love. I also have sneakers and I will be marching from Independence Park to the Knesset this afternoon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2010 in Israel, Microscope

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
