RSS

chaval al hazman

09 Jul

Standing in my kitchen in San Francisco, Rabbi Elliot Kukla gave me one of the most helpful everyday tools I have in my ‘diplomatic toolbox’. He taught me that when I am about to make a judgement of someone I can simply remember that we are all created btzelem elohim or in the image of the divine and let it be without smirking and being overtly crass. Today I used this tactic towards trying to let things go before I chaval al hazman or wasted any time

Most of day three in the Jerusalem Press Room of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs passed without any of my thoughts meandering or relying on btzelem elohim as a coping mechanism. By the afternoon session at 4pm with Professor Gerald Steinberg of Political Studies at Bar-Ilan University in Ramat Gan and as the head of the NGO Monitor my mind was on serious overload. I became emotional and raw as he mentioned his long distrust of a international nonprofit group that I trust quite a bit called the New Israel Fund.

Day three of the Diplomatic Seminar featured Israel Foreign Ministry's expert, Sara Weiss Ma'udi, on maritime and humanitarian law. See more of these photos by clicking here

Moving back a few hours into day three began at 8am learning from the Israel Foreign Ministry’s expert, Sara Weiss Ma’udi, on maritime and humanitarian law focused on the flotilla that made global headlines followed by a lecture on the Assault of Israel Legitimacy focused on the BDS Movement by Press Secretary DJ Schneeweiss and just before lunch a talk about developing our Diplomatic Tool Box focused on topics of Iran with Yehuda Yaakov, Director of Non- proliferation and Counter Terrorism. Our lunch, again perfect for me filled with fruits, vegetables and hummus, was followed with a meeting with Natan Sharansky, not only the Chairman of the Jewish Agency for Israel but the person thought of as beginning the Soviet refusenik movement. He is recognized as a human rights advocate and is most well known for being held in a Soviet prison for a decade for championing the rights of Russian Jews to emigrate into freedom. He has been a high profile Israeli politician, featured in films about being a Refusenik and author of numerous articles and three books. As my incredible boss, Karen Bluestone, who once worked in Russia as well as my mother who once worked with the Jewish Community in St. Louis, Missouri on the absorption of Jewish immigrants from Russia both said about meeting Sharansky, “That’s a really big deal.”

Before we were able to head off to our dinner at the Anngelica Restaurant with Yuli Yoel Edelstein, a member of the Likud serving as Minister of Public Diplomacy and the Diaspora, I was speaking with my new friend Rebecca about our last meeting of the day with Gerald Steinberg and why I had such an emotional response to his presentation. She simply said, “chaval al hazman don’t let it get to you…”

Today was not a waste of time and I won’t waste anymore of it. Today was an amazing day. It was an additional opening into the intensity of the complex pluralism that Israel represents for me. So in honor of Rebecca I take a moment to remember that malchar yom hadash or tomorrow is another day

Photos from dinner in Jerusalem with a few of the folks that are on the Diplomatic Seminar. In this photo folks from Romania, Denmark, France, United Kingdom, Australia, United States and Uzbekistan are represented.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

